INEC declares the Incumbent Governor of Bayelsa State, Douye Diri of PDP as the winner of Bayelsa governorship election


The Incumbent Governor of Bayelsa State, Douye Diri, of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has emerged winner of the governorship election held on November 11, 2023.


In the results announced by the State Returning Officer Prof Kuta Farouq, in Yenagoa on Monday, November 13, Diri polled a total of 175,196 votes to defeat his closest rival, Timipre Sylva of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who scored 110, 108 votes.


Diri won in six of the eight local government areas of the state with Sylva clinching Brass and Nembe local government areas.


Diri scored 18,435 votes in Ogbia, 18,465 votes in Kolokuma/Opokuma, 37,777 in Yenagoa, 23,172 in Ekeremor, 24,685 in Southern Ijaw, 4,556 in Nembe and 12,602 in Brass.